Marsh Hill Nursery School

Areas of Learning

This is a link to the government’s statutory framework, which is mandatory for all early years providers



The Early Years Foundation Stage is a statutory curriculum for children age 0-5 years. It emphasises that through play children learn very effectively.

Within the EYFS are goals, which most children are expected to achieve before the end of the year in the Reception class. The steps which children take as they progress towards these goals are known as Development Matters.

The EYFS is divided into seven areas of learning and development, all are important and inter-connected.

These seven areas consist of:

Three prime areas

Communication and Language

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development

Four specific areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


We have created a series of Curriculum Progression Maps which reflect how we sequence each child's individual learning through carefully selected unique approaches to development within the Marsh Hill Curriculum. 

Marsh Hill Nursery School
A School Life Website
School Life iOS Mobile Application
School Life Android Mobile Application